Click above to view the livestream replay

2020 Annual Law Enforcement

Appreciation Luncheon

"Community of One" Virtual Event


The Kansas City Metropolitan Crime Commission's 71st Annual Law Enforcement Appreciation Luncheon was held virtually on Friday, September 25th. Thank you to all who sponsored this special Community of One virtual event. Sponsors and community leaders began the virtual program with messages of unity and support. Videos and stats told the stories of the Crime Commission's four core programs and their impact in our Kansas City community. Channel 9 News Anchor Lara Moritz and keynote speaker Dallas Police Department Chief Reneé Hall discussed the challenges faced by law enforcement and ways to work together to bring about positive change. Special guest presenters awarded the Crime Commission's 2020 awards:

  • William Dunn, Sr. Award Winner: Second Chance Program Graduate – identity is protected

  • Commerce Bank Community Policing Award Winner: Kansas City, MO Police Officer Marc Canovi

  • lus Davis Award Winner: presented posthumously to Bailus Tate – received by Debbie Tate

  • Alvin Brooks Award Winner: Yolanda Young, Ivanhoe Neighborhood Council, Missouri House of Representatives

  • Crime Stoppers Officer of the Year Award Winner: Master Police Officer Ellen Day, Shawnee, KS Police Department

  • Clarence M. Kelley Award Winner: Chief Tom Hongslo, Lenexa Police Department

Stay up-to-date with our Newsletter!

The Kansas City Metropolitan Crime Commission

3100 Broadway Blvd Suite 1234, Kansas City, MO 64111


  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle